What permissions does code.pyret.org ask for and why?

code.pyret.org asks for several permissions when you log in:

Where are things stored in my Drive?

The site initially makes a single folder in your Google Drive, called code.pyret.org, and stores all of your programs there, with the names you choose for them. They are all created with you as the owner, and private to your account. There is also a directory called code.pyret.org.compiled that is used for caching compiled copies of programs.

If you publish programs, the site creates a new folder, called code.pyret.org.shared, and makes publicly-readable copies of programs you publish in that directory. If you delete this files in this folder, links for those programs you have shared with others will stop working, but any copies others have made will be theirs to keep. Each time you publish a program, a new copy is created from its current contents.

How can I remove the access code.pyret.org has to my data?

You can always go to https://security.google.com/settings/security/permissions?pli=1 and remove all access that code.pyret.org has to your account. Your programs and the created folders will not be deleted if you do so. You can always manually delete the folder and its contents yourself.

How can I see old versions of my programs?

Google Drive automatically stores old versions of your programs as they are saved (as it does for all files). You can follow the instructions at Google's answer to manage old versions of files that you may have saved over or renamed.

What information is sent back to the Pyret team?

We collect basic information about your use of code.pyret.org to help us improve the language and editor, and enable some debugging. We send back information about errors, authentication, whether features such as the type-checker are used, and preferences (such as which mode you choose to display highlights with).

We don't log the contents of your programs by default.

Contributing Detailed Information

If you opt to contribute detailed usage information under the "More" menu (off by default), we will also receive information about the contents of your programs and the edits you make.